Indian Council of World Affairs
Home | Sitemap | Contact Us
home about us aims Research events publications library Photo gallery Partners Contact Us
>> Latin America & Caribbean
The Latin American and the Caribbean (LAC) region comprises three principal sub regions: South America; Central or Meso America; and the Caribbean. The three sub regions share many commonalities, principally, a European colonial history from the 16th to the 19th centuries; close economic and, in many cases, political ties with the US in the more recent past; and racial miscegenation over centuries of intermingling between the indigenous and later European/North American and African inhabitants.

Even a superficial examination, however, reveals differences and exceptionalities such as the English (and French) speaking Caribbean; Portuguese speaking Brazil; considerable geographical disparities between tiny island states and gigantic countries such as Mexico, Argentina and Brazil; varying degrees of natural and resource endowment; as well as differences in the levels of economic development, arising out of the inconsistent nature of the political economy in a majority of the nation states, created during the 19th century, which are now struggling to create a regional identity.

    The Latin American region comprises of following 33 South American, Central American and Caribbean countries.

1. Argentina 2. Brazil 3. Chile 4. Mexico 5. Paraguay
6. Uruguay 7. Venezuela 8. Bolivia 9. Colombia 10. Ecuador
11. Peru 12. Costa Rica 13. El Salvador 14. Guatemala 15. Honduras
16. Nicaragua 17. Barbados 18. Belize 19. Guyana 20. Jamaica
21. Trinidad & Tobago 22. Antigua 23. Dominica 24. Grenada 25. Haiti
26. St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla 27. St. Lucia 28. St. Vincent & Grenadines 29. Bahamas 30. Suriname
31. Panama 32. Cuba 33. Dominican Republic     .  


Facts & Statistics of the major Latin American & Caribbean countries  Click here for details